What Hall of Fame options exist for Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling and Sammy Sosa?

One way or another, this was the last year on the BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot for Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling and Sammy Sosa.

This was his tenth time on the ballot. Players used to be eligible to stay for 15 years, but the Hall of Fame lowered that number to 10 in 2014. Bonds and Clemens finished with their highest percentage of votes in the 10 years, but still fell short of the 75 percent needed. . up for election Schilling’s total fell; it had hit the 70 percent plateau in 2020 and 2021, but ended at 58.6 percent this year. Sosa got 18.5 percent this year.

His journey through Hall is not over, of course. When one Hall of Fame door closes, another potential Cooperstown door opens.

Whats Next? We’ll see.

How is it possible that Bonds, Clemens, Schilling and Sosa continue to be chosen for the Hall of Fame?

All players in good standing in Major League Baseball, such as these four, are eligible to appear on the veterans committee ballot. There have been many different iterations of veterans’ committees over the years, but there are four right now: Today’s Game (1988-present), Modern Baseball (1970-87), Golden Days (1960-79), and Early Baseball ( prior to 1950). ).

Bonds, Clemens, Schilling and Sosa all played most of their games after 1987, so they would be on the Today’s Game shortlist, along with the managers, executives and umpires who are also eligible for this 10-person ticket. Veterans committee votes are usually announced in early November, shortly after the World Series ends.

The benchmark for the election is the same as the BBWAA ballot; players must receive 75 percent of the votes. The Today’s Game committee has 16 members, so a candidate must get at least 12 votes.

Now, we should say that there are no guarantees that those four players (or any of the four) will be on the ballot for today’s Game. Because it includes managers, executives and umpires (baseball people who are not eligible to be elected on the BBWAA ballot), the people who prepared the 10-person ballot may not find room for those players. That’s not likely, but at least it’s a possibility.

When does today’s Game Era Committee meet?

Just when you thought you wouldn’t have to hear about Bonds, Clemens, Schilling and Sosa for a while, surprise! Today’s Game Era Committee meets in December 2022 to decide who will be part of the class of 2023. Yes, they will also participate in the next cycle. Even if they are not on the ballot, the reasons they were left off will be a matter of discussion.

The Today’s Game Era Committee meets twice every five years. After December 2022, the committee is scheduled to meet again in December 2024, for inclusion in the class of 2025. The Modern Baseball Era Committee will meet in December 2023 and December 2025. The Modern Baseball Era Committee Era of the Golden Days will meet in December 2026. That is the end of the current cycle schedule.

Today’s Game Era Committee last met in December 2019. Lee Smith and Harold Baines were elected; Smith received all 16 votes and Baines received 12. Manager Lou Piniella fell one vote short and Albert Belle, Joe Carter, Will Clark, Orel Hershiser, Davey Johnson, Charlie Manuel and George Steinbrenner received fewer than five votes (the exact totals were not given).

Who are the voters on Today’s Gaming Era Committee?

The Hall of Fame’s board of directors appoints the committee, which “will be comprised of 16 members, comprised of National Baseball Hall of Famers, executives and veteran members of the media.”

Here is the voter list for the December 2019 meeting: Nine Hall of Famers (Roberto Alomar, Bert Blyleven, Pat Gillick, Tony La Russa, Greg Maddux, Joe Morgan, John Schuerholz, Ozzie Smith, and Joe Torre) , four Major League Baseball executives (Al Avila, Paul Beeston, Andy MacPhail and Jerry Reinsdorf) and three veteran media/historians (Steve Hirdt, Tim Kurkjian and Claire Smith).

The voter list won’t be exactly the same, but the overall makeup (ratio of HoF’ers, executives, and writers/historians) will be very similar. The question is, will those voters have a different view of those four? We won’t have to wait long to find out.